Nature Walk: 4/12/17


Back to Nature

After a project frustratingly fell through yesterday, do to program issues, I decided to take a walk with my camera to the arboretum. I was meaning to go out anyway, so it just got me out faster 😉 . My creativity and enthusiasm for the day was restored after my three hour adventure, lol, and if I didn’t have other plans I probably would have stayed out another three. My excursion lead me to common weeds, budding trees, and many types of flowers. Oh and after being quiet these last few months this post is a long one.

 

The Beauty of “Weeds”

I’ve noticed that I am drawn to things that are often overlooked because of their value to everyday life, like weeds. I’ll get up close to them by lying on my stomach or back and sometimes I wonder what passer byers think of me, lol. In my playful fun, I enjoy bringing back the charm of these simple plants with my captures. Instead of just calling them weeds I’ve looked up their names (if I am incorrect with any names in my posts, please let me know 🙂 ). The small pink ones are redstem filaree, the small blue flowers are slender speedwell, the tiny white ones are a type of bittercress, and the one in the center is a type of thistle that dried during last Fall.

 

Springing Forth

I came across a lot of budding trees, unfortunately I forgot to check their name tags… so I’ll research them a bit later and type them in. One of the buds I found interesting was the yellow and red ones in the bottom left corner, they turned into the greenish-yellow buds below.

 

 

The red buds on the left were hard to identify too, as a beginner “googling” red long buds doesn’t bring anything up, lol. The bright blue sky was a great background for the red leaves of the one to the right.

 

 

And I loved the contrast between the branches with red buds dangling above the green grass.

 Flowering Trees

My first remembered experience with Magnolias was when I stumbled upon them at my college campus in 2012. In fact, my blog avatar was from the same tree in the blog post  “Blooming with Nature.” Now everytime I run across a magnolia tree I am brought back to that experience. I think this year has been tough on the magnolia tree’s in Michigan, we had 70-80 degree days shortly followed by 2-3inch snow days. I had seen different trees drop their buds from the cold. These blooms where much smaller than previous year, but hopefully they will get bigger throughout the month.

 

The blossoms on bottom of the collage above are from cherry trees.

 

Flowers, Flowers, Flowers!

My absolute favorite season of the year is Spring, mainly because of the flowers. I came across this glowing pink hyacinth near the arboretum’s roadside. Near the end of my walk I finally came across the daffodils. And since I think the last few pictures tell their own story, I’ll leave it at that ;). After today there is a good chance you’ll see more posts like this, I hope you enjoyed it ~ 😀 .

 

5 thoughts on “Nature Walk: 4/12/17

Leave a Reply

