Watercolor Wednesdays: Perfectionism

DSCF1551

Boiling Over

This piece was very stressful for me. I realized my talents weren’t up to what my eyes wanted me to create. I thought I had prepared for certain sections to stay white. I taped off many areas, used a utility knife and ruler to cut straight lines, and yet I still wasn’t able to “copy” the picture exactly.

 

The Real Problem

Perfectionism is something I struggle with often in my artwork and in life. The pressure of things not working out just right leaves my inner child having a fit across whatever it is that I’m doing. “Give up,” a part of me says. “Let go…stop trying to be perfect and just play. Try to have fun and discover yourself in what you do. Be easier on yourself.”

 

 Letting Go

I’ve been really hard on myself this past year and I’ve put a lot of fun projects on the back burner. I was going to take a break from the blog, but I think that if I just relaxed a bit more I’d have a much happier time doing what I love to do.  Sometimes I just need to let go of the things in life that don’t work for me, stress. Even though the bottom half of the picture caused most of the stress, it is now starting to grow on me. 🙂

 

15 thoughts on “Watercolor Wednesdays: Perfectionism

  1. I understand about the perfectionism, I struggle with that but what has helped me is to work bigger, have fun, throw paint around and get the feeling for watercolor and learning to allow the medium to do what it is going to do and enjoy what happens. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel your pain. I used to have a bad case of “masterpieceitis” as well. Blogging can really help with that. The community of artists here is honest and supportive. And I think your watercolor is really wonderful, by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lol I like your term “masterpieceitis” 🙂 It makes it sound less threatening and kinda funny! I will think of that next time I feel a slight tinge heading that direction.Thank you very much memadtwo! ^_^ ~ Mandi

      Like

  3. I actually like the struggle you’re going through. The same process happens to me in writing. And some times, it’s what I ccouldn’t get “right,” that turns out for the best. Love the painting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Dara! Sometimes our inner creativity needs to get through the dirt like flower, huh. Looking back, I am also grateful to the struggle. It helped me get back into balance and surprised me with a little gift of accepting the painting as it wanted to be. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

