Attack of the Killer Insects!

DSCF9144

This was the only bug that didn’t try to eat me lol

Run, Run Away!

Okay so the bugs in Michigan aren’t killing anyone that I’m aware of… but they do seem to be more active this year. This has made it difficult for me to go for a short walk let alone stop and take in the nature around me.

 

Shoo Flies!

When I have mustered the courage to go out, I’ve ran into a few flying friends. There are the gnats that swarm your face, “hey, hey, can I fly in your eyes, nose or mouth. K cool thanks!” then dive bomb into your eye. There are the deer flies or horse flies that love to take a bite out of anyone passing by. And the ever infamous mosquitoes…I have so much to say about them, but I will leave my censors on. So lets just say they love to suck your blood. I don’t like to put on bug spray, but I don’t know of any other way of dealing with these buzzing creatures. 

 

Getting Outside

I’m hoping to enjoy nature soon, but first I have to figure out how to get around these guys… maybe I’ll have to wear a mesh net around my whole body. I’ll remember to take a picture of myself if I do lol. 

 

Has anyone else noticed this yrs abundance of bugs or is it just me? Or do you know of any remedies to keep them away?

 

3 thoughts on “Attack of the Killer Insects!

  1. Hey Mandi,
    NM is sort of known for not having a lot of bugs. This year with the more than normal rain, we have a lot of small mosquitoes or the West Nile variety. They don’t like me that much, but they eat Bill (husband) up. I don’t eat much sugar. That could be it. When around them, citronella salve works for me. By the way – I was going to answer your heart challenge, and had the picture of the beetle that I named Heart on my last post, but didn’t get around to making a heart. Sorry. My intention was to do that. Neat idea. Anyway, I hope you are enjoying your Sunday.
    Mary

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the advice! I’m from southern Michigan and every time i step outside our house in the woods I get 10-18 mosquitoes attached to me lol. I will definitely try out the salve! No problem about the heart challenge, the activities are meant for an anytime entry, just something fun to do. I stopped by and saw the post you were talking about, mind if I link your post to the activity? It was a great picture :D.

      Like

Leave a Reply

